Starting Over

The school year has once again begun and I am again starting over.  I took a job as a special education resource teacher for 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade students.  I thought a great deal about leaving the educational system this year and finding something new, different, and exciting, but it was not meant to be.  Having a 2 year old and a baby girl on the way, I just realized that you can’t beat the hours that a teacher works or the time off.  I was offered a job that I turned down in which I would have 5 holidays the entire year and no vacation.  Turning that one down was a no brainer and I’m sure that most jobs are not that unreasonable.  However, it did get me to put some perspective on things.  Watching Graham grow and change is so incredibly exciting right now and I don’t want to miss out on that.   So, I am now considering other paths within the educational system such as being a guidance counselor.   I’m still not sure yet what I want to do with the rest of my life which is kind of frightening at times.  I’m keeping my eyes and my options open though and something is sure to come along.  Let me know if you think of anything!

2 Comments

  1. Denise said,

    September 16, 2006 at 12:16 pm

    Have you thought about working for textbook publishers? There are sales, marketing and editing positions. Just a thought to kind of keep your hand in education and shift gears at the same time. I’m back in school now going for my Masters in Administration, so I can push the minions around at will ; )

    Good luck this school year…only eight months to go!!

  2. Jamie said,

    May 28, 2007 at 2:48 am

    We’re almost done!!! I’ve missed you this year! I loved your comment about the IEPs being mini-novels! Royalities would be nice, huh?!


Leave a Reply

