Santa Claus

I had no idea how often I would use Santa Claus as a discipline method until I became a mother.  After only writing that one line I find myself realizing that Graham may grow to fear Santa Claus.  For example, when we went out to eat the other night, Graham starting misbehaving.  I think he was banging his fork or maybe not eating.  Anyway, Michael and I said that the elves were watching and that if Graham wasn’t good at the table, that he wouldn’t get his presents.  He listened and changed his behavior quickly.  It worked, but is that the best method?  I guess at the age of 2, you have to take what you can get.   Michael and I seem to have backed off of the Santa Claus and the Elves bit in the last few days, but we were hitting it hard for a while there.  Graham was going through a little whiny spurt which he goes through periodically and those elves were peering through the windows of our house so much we should have called the police!  It’s no wonder after watching “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer” on television, Graham did not ask to sleep with an elf afterwards, he asked to sleep with the abominable snowman!

This season with a 2 year old though is fabulous and magical.  I am loving reliving all of the joy of believing again.  I was driving Michael a little crazy because I kept finding places where Santa was going to be that we could take Graham.   I guess I was overdoing it, but I just can’t help it!  It is so thrilling to see his eyes light up at the sight of Santa or Christmas lights or parades.  Besides, it won’t be long before this magic will fade from him and he’ll have to wait until he has his own kids to feel this again with.

On another totally different note, he peed on the potty for the first time tonight- Go Graham!  Carousel Ride

Leave a Reply

