New Beginnings

As many of you know, I have been burnt out on teaching special education for quite a while.  I have been trying to find a position to settle into for some time, but never quite getting there.  It has been a long road and I have wondered if there was something else out there for me.  I think I may have finally found it.  I have been involved in a looong interview process with USC Upstate in their disability services department.  I interviewed for an intial job with the university and did not get it, but was then contacted about this job.  So, I began another string of interviews.  It finally came down to a 3 1/2 hr. interview involving a 20 minute powerpoint presentation.  I was so nervous!  But, the interview group was so friendly, and I felt very comfortable.  They offered me the job today and I am absolutely thrilled.  I will be working with students with disabilities at the university- deciding on accomodations that are appropriate for them, coordinating accomodations, working with peer coaches to support students, and helping to make students successful in graduating from college.  Being able to see students with disabilities who have made it to a 4 year university is going to be fantastic and I am thrilled about the goal of assisting them in completing college!  It is a new beginning and one I have been hoping for and praying about for a long time.  

1 Comment

  1. Susan H said,

    August 12, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Hey Daniel – i am WAY behind as usual since i only check my personal email about once a month – I LIVE in email all day long at work and the day is long….So glad to hear about the new job – not being happy at work is one of the worst – I know from experience. Also just read you update on they baby adventures and so glad your wait ‘almost’ over. Not sure how you can sleep until November – but very very happy for you all – and thanks for the picture on line here from being at Ruth Ann and Rays – sorry I had to miss that day ! Hug to All – Susan


Leave a Reply

