Back Home and a Bit Crazy!

 We arrived home Saturday night around 11:00 pm after a very long flight.  The plane ride was the part of this journey that I feared the most and it really turned out to not be as bad as I thought it would be.  After fussing for a couple of hours, Surae passed out and slept for quite a while.  Well, little did I know that would be the most sleep she would be getting for some time!  In China, Surae slept through the night since day one, but arriving home has been a different story.  The combination of the 13 hour time difference and the total change in environment has thrown her for a loop!  We have been up most of the night every single night since we arrived home.  She is really needing constant attention from me right now which is very understandable and which I am ready to give, but, boy is it exhausting!  So, for all the people who have called and emailed and received no response, I have to give a blanket, Sorry.  I have just been totally swamped.  In China, I could put Surae down and leave the room.  But, she here needs the comfort of my arms most of the day.  This makes little things like showering pretty tough!  Luckily, my dad, has been here and helping a lot and Surae has really taken to him, thank goodness!   To make things a little more difficult, Surae also has a pretty bad cold.  I took her to the doctor yesterday and she has to be on the nebulizer and had to receive a chest x-ray. 
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Graham has been a fantastic big brother so far.  He has wanted to feed Surae her bottles, hold her, and when she cries, he gives her toys without me even asking him to.  Of course, with mommy being gone for 3 weeks, he has needed a good bit of extra attention from me which I am trying desperately to give at the same time as meeting all of Surae’s needs. 
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Micahael went back to work on Monday and was totally jet lagged and then on Monday night developed a stomach virus and was up all night sick.  So, life has been a bit hectic to say the least, but I know Surae wil get more and more adjusted each day and things will get better!

4 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    November 14, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Wow sis, I’m surprised you even had time for this.
    Crazy, but all in all I’m sure it’s so little a price to pay for having her in your life.

  2. Aunt Sandra said,

    November 15, 2007 at 1:16 am

    They are just beautiful. Graham will be a great big brother for little Surae. Danielle try to get some rest. Hope you are feeling better Michael. Thanks for your help Pop Pop. Love to all of you. 🙂

  3. Nana Lewis said,

    November 15, 2007 at 2:22 am

    So sorry you guys are having such a rough time. As I said the other day I’ll be glad to help in any way..just let me know. The photos of Graham and Surae are cute. I miss my little guy this week!

  4. Marie & David said,

    November 15, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Hang in there. Grace was a great sleeper in China and she now sleeps for an hour and wakes up, very fussy and inconsolatable – although yesterday we got a nice 8 hour stretch. We go to the dr’s tomorrow for her first check up. Love the market post, and we never did get to Cow and Bridge! Next time!
    Our best wishes to Michael for a speedy recovery!
    Marie & David


Leave a Reply

