Lake Eden Arts Festival LEAF Spring 2008

Last weekend, we attended the Lake Eden Arts Festival in Black Mountain, NC.   This was Surae’s first festival and she did great!  We arrived Thursday night along with our friends Chris and Tammy and their kiddos Ben and Noah.  We were able to get everything set up right before the rain began.  It was a nice, relaxing night and going to the sleep to the sound of rain was quite peaceful. 

On Friday, with everything set up, we were able to enjoy the afternoon at our own pace.  We took a walk, played on the beach, took long naps, and then welcomed our friends Andy, Iris, and Satty to camp.  Chris and Tammy’s friends Diane and David arrived as well with their 2 sons, so we had a really big camp set up by Friday afternoon. 

The music started up around 4 and we began the weekend with some African Dance in Eden Hall.  It only got better from there.  The Friday night music was definetely the highlight of my weekend.  Corey Harris played at Lakeside and was really incredible.  He plays roots/reggae with lots of African influence.  He was very smooth and just as wonderful as I remembered him at a previous concert. 

http://www.myspace.com/coreyharrismusic

 Following Corey Harris was Arrested Development.  I have been a huge fan of Arrested Development since their album 3 Years, 5 Months & 2 Days in the Life Of… I played that CD over and over in college and never got sick of it.  When I saw them show up on the bill for LEAF, I was psyched.  Of course, I also wondered if they would live up to my expectations.  Did they ever!  They were phenomenal.  This concert was one of the most high energy shows I have ever seen and with a super positive message.  It was truly an uplifting experience. 

http://www.arresteddevelopmentmusic.com/

After that, we had to take the kids to bed as they were exhausted from a long day.  I was able to sneak out though for a bit while Michael watched the kids to catch some of the Big Sandy and the Fly-Rite Boys show.  I have seen Big Sandy a few times before and always had fun and this was no exception.  This was actually the best Big Sandy show I had ever attended.  Big Sandy plays swing and rockabilly and he had the whole crowd on their feet in Eden Hall.  I got a serious workout at that show from just dancing.  It was too fun!

http://www.bigsandy.net/

We caught lots of great music again on Saturday.  The highlight for me on Saturday though was the LEAF parade.  I think this parade was the largest it had ever been.  There was the blue fairy of course granting wishes.  Surae got her first wish!  There were also the most amazing puppets, jugglers, and stilt walkers.  Graham and Surae both got flags to wave in the parade and had the most fun.  It was a blast and truly my Saturday highlight.

 

Sunday started out incredibly with a gospel show from Big Sam’s Funky Nation.  These guys got everybody moving with their New Orleans style sound.  Their energy level was intense.

http://www.bigsamsfunkynation.com/

After that, we packed up camp and then headed back down to the festival to walk around a bit more.  I also found out that I had a won some amazing natural earrings from the LEAF raffle which benefits their school outreach.  I was so excited because I desperately wanted these earrings, but had held back and then ended up winning them instead.  After that, the rains started coming in again and it was time to head home.  The weekend was fantastic with lots of good music, time with family, and friends.  If you ever get a chance, check out LEAF!

http://www.theleaf.com/index.php

 

2 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    May 21, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Whoa, that looks like a hell of a lot of fun.
    Let me be the first to say that those tree monsters from the parade have just supplied me with nightmare material for a whole year of my life.
    The kids look fantastic!!!

  2. Bob McGregor said,

    May 20, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Great Pictures!


Leave a Reply

